TWS announces 2023 awards recipients

The honors will be bestowed at the 2023 Annual Conference in Louisville

The Wildlife Society is announcing the official list of recipients of the 2023 awards! Honors will be presented at the 2023 Annual Conference in Louisville. Watch the news at to learn more about award-winners in the coming weeks. Visit our conference website to keep up to date on the latest developments.

Aldo Leopold Memorial Award: Carol Chambers

TWS Fellows: Jessica Homyack, Serra Hoagland, Glynnis Hood, Dee Patriquin, Mindy Rice, Sarah Rinkevich, Kevin Monteith, Ray Iglay, Paul Johansen, Quentin Hays


Caesar Kleberg Award for Excellence in Applied Wildlife Research: Lisette Waits

Group Achievement Award: Doris Duke Conservation Scholars Program Collaborative

Special Recognition Service Award: Jeannine Fleegle, Seth Magle

Jim McDonough Award: Don Barnes

Jay N. “Ding” Darling Memorial Award for Wildlife Stewardship through Art: Erika Coover and Melissa Groo


Distinguished Service Award: Rick Warhurst

Chapter of the Year: Texas Chapter

Student Chapter of the Year: University of Wisconsin—Stevens Point

Student Chapter Advisor of the Year: Robert Brewer

W.L. McAtee and G.V. Burger Award for Outstanding Service as an Associate Editor: Quresh Latif, Journal of Wildlife Management; Antoinette (Toni) Piaggio, Wildlife Society Bulletin

Wildlife Restoration Award—Wildlife Management: Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources

Diversity Award: Jennifer Merems; Vanguarding an Inclusive Ecological Workforce (VIEW) Fellowship, Oregon State University Department of Fisheries, Wildlife and Conservation Sciences


Ronald F. Labinsky Graduate Fellowship in Wildlife Policy: Hannah Henry

Donald H. Rusch Memorial Game Bird Research Scholarship: Cailey Isaacson

Excellence in Wildlife Education Award: Steve Johnson


Authored Book: Michael R. Conover and Denise O. Conover. Human-Wildlife Interactions: From Conflict to Coexistence. 2nd Edition

Edited Book: Christine L. Madliger, Craig E. Franklin, Oliver P. Love, and Steven J. Cooke. Conservation Physiology: Applications for Wildlife Conservation and Management.

Article/Journal Paper: Clayton T. Lamb, Roland Willson, Carmen Richter, Naomi Owens-Beek, Julian Napoleon, Bruce Muir, R. Scott McNay, Estelle Lavis, Mark Hebblewhite, Line Giguere, Tamara Dokkie, Stan Boutin, and Adam T. Ford. 2022. Indigenous-led conservation: Pathways to recovery for the nearly extirpated Klinse-Za mountain caribou. Ecological Applications.

Monograph: Gregory H. Golet, Kristen E. Dybala, Matthew E. Reiter, Kristin A. Sesser, Mark Reynolds, and Rodd Kelsey. 2022. Shorebird food energy shortfalls and the effectiveness of habitat incentive programs in record wet, dry, and warm years. Ecological Monographs.

Student Paper: Ana Miller-ter Kuile, Devyn Orr, An Bui, Rodolfo Dirzo, Maggie Klope, Douglas McCauley, Carina Motta, and Hillary Young. 2020. Impacts of rodent eradication on seed predation and plant community biomass on a tropical atoll. Biotropica.

The Wildlife Professional Best Contributed Article: Mary M. Rowland, Michael J. Wisdom, Darren A. Clark, Bruce K. Johnson. 2022. A Legacy of Science and Partnerships: For over 25 years, the Starkey Project has conducted policy-shaping research on deer and elk.

Header Image: The Harrison-Crawford State Forest near Louisville, Ky. Credit: StevenW.