TWS announces 2022 awards recipients

The Wildlife Society is announcing the recipients of this year’s awards. They will be honored when we gather for the 2022 Annual Conference in Spokane, Washington. In the meantime, keep an eye out on to learn more about them in the coming weeks. And visit our conference website to keep up to date on the latest developments.

Aldo Leopold Memorial Award: John Koprowski

TWS Fellows: Adam Ahlers, Ed Arnett, Al Arsenault, Michael Fishman, Daryl Jones, John Kilgo, John McNerney, Jena Moon, Larkin Powell, Karen Powers


Caesar Kleberg Award for Excellence in Applied Wildlife Research: Kurt VerCauteren

Diversity Award: Student Wildlands Adventure Program

Group Achievement Award: Eastern Spotted Skunk Cooperative Study Group

Special Recognition Service Award: Allison Cox, Anna Knipps

Jim McDonough Award: Tyler Campbell


Distinguished Service Award: Len McDaniel

Chapter of the Year: Texas Chapter

Student Chapter of the Year: Texas Tech University

Student Chapter Advisor of the Year: Pat Magee

W.L. McAtee and G.V. Burger Award for Outstanding Service as an Associate Editor: Cynthia Paszkowski, Journal of Wildlife Management; Markus J. Peterson, Wildlife Society Bulletin

Wildlife Restoration Award—Wildlife Management: Alaska Department of Fish and Game. Nelchina Brown Bear Demographics 2009-2018

Wildlife Restoration Award—Wildlife Research and Surveys: South Dakota Department of Game, Fish and Parks. Spatially explicit habitat-based occupancy models for prairie grouse in South Dakota


Conservation Education Award: Sue Tidwell. Cries of the Savanna 

Ronald F. Labisky Graduate Fellowship in Wildlife Policy: Lindsay Martinez

Donald H. Rusch Memorial Game Bird Research Scholarship: James Lee

Excellence in Wildlife Education Award: Robert Montgomery


Authored Book: Michael Morrison, Leonard Brennan, Bruce Marcot, William Block, Kevin McKelvey. Advancing Animal Ecology

Edited Book: Colleen Downs, Lorinda Hart. Invasive Birds: Global Trends and Impacts

Biography/History of Wildlife Biology: Briony Penn. The Real Thing: The Natural History of Ian McTaggart Cowan

Article/Journal Paper: J. David Wiens, Katie M. Dugger, J. Mark Higley, Damon B. Lesmeister, Alan B. Franklin, Keith A. Hamm, Gary C. White, Krista E. Dilione, David C. Simon, Robin R. Bown, Peter C. Carlson, Charles B. Yackulic, James D. Nichols, James E. Hines, Raymond J. Davis, David W. Lamphear, Christopher McCafferty, Trent L. McDonald, Stan G. Sovern. Invader removal triggers competitive release in a threatened avian predator. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences

Monograph: Martin Tim Tinker, James L. Bodkin, Lizabeth Bowen, Brenda Ballachey, Gena Bentall, Alexander Burdin, Heather Coletti, George Esslinger, Brian B. Hatfield, Michael C. Kenner, Kimberly Kloecker, Brenda Konar, A. Keith Miles, Daniel H. Monson, Michael J. Murray, Benjamin P. Weitzman, James A. Estes. Sea otter population collapse in southwest Alaska: assessing ecological covariates, consequences, and causal factors. Ecological Monographs

Student Paper: Brendan K. Hobart, Gavin M. Jones, Kevin N. Roberts, Brian P. Dotters, Sheila A. Whitmore, William J. Berigan, Martin G. Raphael, John J. Keane, R.J. Gutiérrez, M. Zachariah Peery. Trophic interactions mediate the response of predator populations to habitat change. Biological Conservation

The Wildlife Professional Best Contributed Article: John J. Morgan, Sara Parker Pauley, Paul Johansen, Cody Rhoden. “A Changing Landscape: Reimagining Conservation on Private Lands”

Header Image: The light of a sunrise shines through conifers. Credit: Kurt Svendsgaard/U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service