The Wildlife Society’s Awards Program annually honors professional excellence, recognizes outstanding achievement and highlights contributions to wildlife science and management. The first TWS award (Honorary Membership) was bestowed on Jay N. “Ding” Darling in 1938, just one year after the founding of TWS.

Through the years many new awards have been established to recognize accomplishments in wildlife publications, management, science and professionalism. Special recognition by The Wildlife Society promotes the professional growth of our members, provides our membership with role models and strengthens the image of our membership in the eyes of their peers, employers, our leadership and society.

We encourage members to recognize the contributions of their peers by participating in the nomination process. Detailed nomination instructions and criteria are published in December for the upcoming year.

All award nominations are due by May 1, with a few exceptions:

  • Group Achievement Award (nominations due February 1)
  • Wildlife Publication Awards (nominations due March 1)
  • TWS Fellows Award (nominations due February 1)


    Education Awards

    Conservation Education Award 
    Donald H. Rusch Memorial Game Bird Research Scholarship
    Excellence in Wildlife Education Award

    Professional Achievement Awards

    Aldo Leopold Memorial Award
    Caesar Kleberg Award For Excellence in Applied Wildlife Research
    Diversity Award
    Group Achievement Award 
    Jay N. “Ding” Darling Award for Wildlife Stewardship Through Art
    Jim McDonough Award 
    Special Recognition Service Award 
    Wildlife Publication Awards

    Service Awards

    Chapter of the Year Award
    Distinguished Service Awards
    Honorary Membership 
    Student Chapter Advisor of the Year
    Student Chapter of the Year Award
    TWS Fellows Award


    The 2017 TWS Award Recipients

    Click on the image icons above to quickly scroll.