Distinguished Service Award

White-Tailed Kite resting on a plant

Image Credit: Robert Burton, USFWS

The Wildlife Society Distinguished Service Award recognizes TWS members who have made a long-term commitment to the Society based on at least 20 years of membership and their actions to further the mission of the Society. The member is someone who is/was “always there” and could be counted on to serve the chapter, section, or international organization.

The recipient receives an award lapel pin and certificate during the Awards Ceremony at the TWS Annual Conference.

Award Nomination Process and Criteria

To nominate an individual for consideration, click here to learn about the criteria and the nomination process. Nomination forms must be submitted by May 1, 2018 at 11:59 PM EST.

Distinguished Service Award


Canadian Section: Robert E. Jones
Northeast Section: Jerry R. Longcore


Canadian Section: Elston H. Dzus
Northwest Section: Blake Murden
Southeastern Section: Stephen V. Rockwood
Southwest Section: Brian L. Hanson
Western Section: William G. Standley


Southeastern Section: Randy Spencer
Canadian Section: Lu Carbyn
Northeast Section: Justin Vreeland
Northwest Section: Warren Aney
Western Section: Jon Hooper


Southeastern Section: Frank Boyd
Canadian Section: George J. Mitchell
Northeast Section: Jerry D. Hassinger
Northwest Section: Ellen Campbell
Central Mountains and Plains Section: Robert D. Wood
Western Section: Bradley Valentine
Southwest Section: Terry L. Blankenship


Canadian Section: Larry Bidlake
Central Mountains and Plains Section: Carl Wolfe
Northeast Section: Ted Nichols
North Central Section: Keith McCaffery
Southwest Section: William Burger
Western Section: Mike Chapel


Canadian Section: Bill Samuel
Central Mountains and Plains Section: Del Benson
Northeast Section: Robert Brooks
Northwest Section: Charlie Bruce
Southeastern Section: Ed Hackett
Southwest Section: Frank Baucom
Western Section: Marshall White