Wild horses
Image Credit: Bureau of Land Management


Henry S. Mosby Professional Wildlifer Award: Given to a professional wildlife biologist. It may be given on the basis of a number of years of significant, sustained contributions to wildlife biology or on the basis of a single very significant contribution.

A. Willis Robertson Citizen Conservation Award: Given to a non-professional who has exercised outstanding conservation practices on his own land or who has made significant contributions to conservation activities in the Commonwealth.

Deadlines for nominations are typically in early January.

YearHenry S. Mosby Professional AwardA. Willis Robertson Citizen Conservation Award
2024Katie MartinNot Awarded
2023Nancy MoncriefJenny West, Virginia Wildlife Foundation
2022Gary CostanzoDot Field and Richard Ayers
2021Megan KirchgessnerArlington Regional Chapter of the Virginia Master Naturalists
2020Betsy StinsonLeon Boyd
2019Ray DueserVolunteers of the Wildlife Center of Virginia
2018David NorrisDavid and Karen Quillen
2017Rebecca K. GwynnBrian and Martha Murphy
2016Robert EllisNot Awarded
2015Scott KlopferMr. Gene and Mrs. Laura Goley
 2014Dave SteffenMr. Tom Clarke
 2013Barry TruittMr. J. Hudson Reese
 2012Al BourgeoisNot Awarded
 2011John BakerNot Awarded
2010Jeff TrollingerCentral Virginia Chapter of Quail Unlimited
2009Nelson LafonJoe Coleman/Loudoun Wildlife Conservancy
2008Charlie CushwaThe Virginia Herpetological Society
2007Steve CapelNot Awarded
2006Larry CraneThe Ward Burton Wildlife Foundation
2005David WhitehurstFriends of the Rappahannock
2004Mike FiesLoudoun County Chapter, Izaak Walton League of America
2003Terry SandersCharles Hawkins
2002Don PattersonDwight Paulette
2001Irv KenyonJames Edmunds II
2000Mark Damian DudaRobert and Dee Leggett
1999Jefferson L. WaldonNot Awarded
1996Don SchwabPaul Parcell, Dulles Airport
1995Dr. Joseph C. MitchellRussell E. Holland, Powhatan
1994Dennis Martin & Gerald BlankDavid Horne, Hunters for the Hungry
1993Roy L. KirkpatrickMyriam Moore
1992Jack V. GwynnVA State Chapter, National Turkey Federation
1991Karen A. TerwilligerBlue Ridge Chapter, Quail Unlimited
1990Dr. Mike VaughanJames River Corp. (Upper Brandon)
1989Bob DuncanR. Jones
1988Dr. Robert GilesPaul Saunier, Jr.
1987Dr. Mitchell ByrdLanier Frantz

The VATWS Awards Committee is chaired by Scott Klopfer. Send nominations to sklopfer@vt.edu.

Virginia Chapter of The Wildlife Society Professional Development Award

The Virginia Chapter of the Wildlife Society will award $1,000 to an undergraduate (any level)
enrolled at a Virginia college or university during 2024-2025. The award can be used to fund a wide
variety of activities, including support (travel, equipment, supplies, housing, and/or wages) for
a research project, travel to give a presentation at a conference, or any other professional
development-related expense the student can reasonably justify.

The award is intended to benefit students who show promise as wildlife educators, researchers,
and/or managers. The award will be presented at the annual meeting of the Virginia Chapter in
each year.

The deadline for applications is February 9, 2024. Download the scholarship application.

Professional Development Award
2024Katie WheelerRadford University
2023Jacob NewmanVirginia Tech

Excellence in Wildlife Stewardship Through Science and Education Scholarship
YearRecipientUniversity and Department
2019Garrett RhyneVirginia Tech
2018Aylett LipfordVirginia Tech
2017Allison MoserVirginia Tech
2016Justin HallVirginia Tech
2015Emily RonisVirginia Tech
2014Fallon ParkerRadford University
 2013John HuthRadford University
 2012Kelsey TownsendRadford University
 2011Tommy EssonVirginia Tech, Dept. of Fisheries and Wildlife Sciences
2010Casey CarbaughVirginia Tech, Dept. of Fisheries and Wildlife Sciences
2009Beth MeyerRadford University
2008Kathryn WomakLongwood University
2007Adrian RoadmanVirginia Tech, Dept. of Fisheries and Wildlife Sciences
2006Eddie OwensVirginia Tech,Dept. of Fisheries and Wildlife Sciences
2005Lauren HoffstetterVirginia Tech, Dept. of Fisheries and Wildlife Sciences
2004Michael NicholsVirginia Tech, Dept. of Fisheries and Wildlife Sciences
2003Christopher AyersVirginia Tech, Dept. of Fisheries and Wildlife Sciences
2002Andy PlumleyVirginia Tech, Dept. of Fisheries and Wildlife Sciences
Recipients of VATWS awards for 2023(from left to right) Dr. Nancy Moncrief (Henry S. Mosby Award) and Jacob Newman, undergraduate from Virginia Tech (Professional Development Award).