WG HomeAboutMembershipAnnual MeetingAwardsNewsContact

News

Our second TWS CUEWG-sponsored workshop  (one hour in length) in our DEI series will be led by Dr. Eli Typhina from North Carolina State University on November 17. The topic is Indigenous Pedagogy. 

Our working group received funding from TWS (thank you TWS!!) to create a series of discussions/workshops during the 2022/2023 academic year around practical advances for DEI that can improve our classrooms and programs. Anyone can attend! We will have two more workshops in the spring semester.

Thinking Indigenous with Pedagogy
Dr. Eli Typhina
Assistant Director, Environmental Sciences Program
North Carolina State University

Thursday, Nov. 17, 2022
12:00pm PT / 1:00pm MT / 2:00pm CT / 3:00pm ET
Zoom Meeting (1 hr)

This workshop is geared toward educators interested in learning ways to incorporate Native American teachings into their course design and assignments.  Participants will learn teachings of the Medicine Wheel, a symbol used by plains tribes, and how to use these concepts to inform their pedagogy.  Participants will have the opportunity to see examples and workshop their course designs and assignments to reflect indigenous ways of knowing.

Free, simple registration for the Zoom link:
https://go.unl.edu/ht5p


Past Webinars

The first workshop on 29 September 2022 was facilitated by Dr. Erim Gomez from University of Montana: Creating a more inclusive classroom.  You can view the video from this workshop here!

In addition—perhaps you have an idea for a workshop on the theme: Recruiting, retaining, training, and mentoring: making an impact with DEI in our college and university wildlife programs.  With funds from TWS and U. Nebraska, we have funds to pay a stipend for facilitators. Please share ideas via this quick Google Form: https://forms.gle/i8FE9pb2JYwtY9AT6